“It turns us into the worst version of ourselves while convincing us that we’re at our best."

Despite travelling I’ve started to grow a kind of love/hate relationship with it, and this article kind hits the nail on many of my dilemmas. At some point I thought that travel makes us more tolerant, by having a wider perspective and experience other realities, and while that’s not wrong it isn’t as straightforward as I once believed. Often is more self-centred that people like to say (and I’m including myself in it…), both for the one who travelled or those back home: the questions usually are more in the “what have you done?” than the “what’s it like?”, and I don’t really like love talking about myself.

The Case Against Travel - https://www.newyorker.com/culture/the-weekend-essay/the-case-against-travel