I’m becoming a grumpy old person, and still kind of getting back to the everyday routine after returning from Nepal, so take this with a huge pinch of salt. But I’m getting so tired of most of the travel content being created nowadays, we somehow lost the joy of curiosity and discovery.

When did the travel stuff switched from the displaying the best of a place to “hey, look what I am doing now!”?

Why do most of the travel content creators now put themselves between the reader and the place they’re at?

Why do so many of them kind of play around with the readers lack of knowledge of that place to not be entirely honest about it, so it conveys the narrative they’re building?

I think I know the answers to all these questions, I guess this evolution to a more lifestyle driven way to do things never really caught on me. But again, I’m just a grumpy old guy…